Why I broke red traffic signal yesterday

dawnphoto

Yesterday I was late from my office and I was in real hurry. I had to cross many traffic red lights without stopping so that I could reach my office on time. Don’t get me wrong. I am usually a law abiding citizen and I do wait at a crossing with red light to turn green before I move. But that day I had some real urgency and I had to break the law.

Now that made me feel guilty as I crossed that red signal. Feeling guilty is not a comfortable feeling. After all who wants to think himself a bad guy? At least I am not the person who will consider myself a ‘criminal’.

So *after* breaking the law I started looking for ‘genuine’ reasons why I broke the law.

… I was doing it once and first time so it was not that bad.

… I was not trying to harm any one, so it was ok.

… I could get fired for being late, make it difficult to provide bread and butter to my family which is a much bigger responsibility.

… Our government is not doing anything for jobless people and I could be jobless. I had to take the law in my hand by breaking this traffic signal because government is not doing enough. Makes sense. Right?

… I help a charity organization with regular contribution which works to help people who are suffering from poverty and that cause would be hurt if I would not cross that signal. May be God has sent me in this world to take care of these vulnerable people with my contribution.

Slowly I started feeling better from that guilt. In fact I started feeling stupid for that feeling of guilt and I praised myself to take that step to break the traffic signal. The last justification I mentioned above, being part of a bigger cause for the sake of humanity, made me feel warn.

Suddenly, on my last turn, a big truck, driven recklessly, broke traffic signal and rammed into my car. My car was crushed and I was dead; instantly; right on the spot.

(Dedicated to those people who think killing others for a reason, they have justification for, is ok. Written on the day of deadly bomb blast in Gulshan Iqbal park, Lahore which killed 69 people. Photo by Dawn newspaper.)
One thought on “Why I broke red traffic signal yesterday

Leave a Reply

