Both email addresses are yours

I have an email address armaghan.saqib In past few weeks I received a couple of emails which were addressed to armaghansaqib. I was bit surprised why Google is misbehaving and routing someone else’s (armaghansaqib) to me (armaghan.saqib)

Some investigation revealed that I own both of these addresses. From google help page:

Gmail doesn’t recognize dots as characters within user names, you can add or remove the dots from a Gmail address without changing the actual destination address; they’ll all go to your inbox, and only yours.

Which means that ar.maghansaqib, armaghan.saqib, armagh.an.saqib@gmail as well as armaghansaqib are all mine.

This has an interesting use. You can use email addresses with differently placed dots to track the source of email sender. For example I can print armaghan.saqib on my business cards while put armaghansaqib on my blog contact page. This way I shall know how the sender got my email address.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Additional note: For some reason @gmail.com got stripped out from email addresses mentioned above by wordpress.com. So read full email address as armaghansaqib@gmail.com where I have mentioned it as armaghansaqib above.

Leave a Reply

